Copper John – Step by Step

I’ve been tying up some small nymphs in preparation for an very short upcoming season for myself. You see, I’ll be staying at home for the next while taking care of my little boy, so until he can walk and throw a line, it looks like I’ll be limited in how much time on the water I’ll have. Don’t get me wrong, I’m looking forward to spending the time with him, and hoping that he will share my love of fishing, but first, he’ll need to learn to walk. I’ll start him out with a couple trips to the creeks to see the salmon and steelhead running up the rivers. Perhaps we can even flip some rocks to find some of those bugs Daddy makes in his tying room. It will be fun, and I can hardly wait.

I found this great site with a few step by step flies tied specifically for the Bow river in Alberta. These flies are all pretty standard offerings, but they have done a good job with the tutorials and so I am sharing this with you.

Copper John Nymph

Copper John Nymph

Hook: Standard 10-18 Wet Fly Hook
Bead: 1/8″ Gold Bead or sized to suite hook size
Weight: Weighted Wire (20 mm)
Thread: Black #8
Tail: Brown Goose Biot
Body: Medium Ultra Copper Wire
Wingcase: Strands of Mother of Pearl Flashabou
Wingcase: 1/8″ of Black Thin Skin
Thorax: Peacock Herl
Legs: Natural Partridge or Grouse Feather Barbs

~ by Darren M on March 22, 2010.

One Response to “Copper John – Step by Step”

  1. Thanks for taking an interest in my website. I have only been working on it the last couple of months and it is encouraging to receive positive comments. I am putting up some fly tying instructions for some original flies with their entomology studies as we speak. Please visit periodically to see my additions in the fly tying area. Again, thanks for sharing my site.

Leave a Reply

 
