Tying with Starling

I received a brand new starling skin in the mail a couple weeks back (Thanks Kerry, I owe you), but I’ve yet to find a quiet moment to start experimenting. I did find a nice blog with a good selection of starling hackled flies. So it looks like I’ll be breaking into that skin and the Golden Plover I managed to grab off my buddy AL. The boxes from last year are all still looking quite empty, ad these would fit the bill for a few spaces at least. We have about 20 of these introduced European Starling calling my backyard home at the moment, and I’ve seen some impressive flocks of at least 1,000 birds occupying the fields around here. If the flies start working well, they ad better be on guard.

Check out the offerings tied up at The Fly Fisherman’s Cafe

Starling and Red

~ by Darren M on February 11, 2008.

One Response to “Tying with Starling”

  1. […] might also enjoy: Tying with Starling (The Daily Fly Paper) Q&A: Snipe and Starling (thread on the Fly Tying Forum) Starling & […]

Leave a Reply

 
