5 GRHE’s

I can’t think of a more fitting fly to represent the gold rings than the Gold Ribbed hare’s Ear Nymph or GRHE for short. I remember years ago when I had just started fishing, I made my way out to a small stocked trout pond and was wailing away, frothing up the water. An older gentleman was fishing just down from me a couple hundred feet. I watched as he reeled in fish after fish, and must have changed my fly 5 or six times with no luck. After an hour or so of nothing, the gentleman walked over and gave me a few pointers on casting, position and offered a particularly well tied GRHE. I thanked him graciously and tied on the nymph. 4 casts later, I got my first hint that there were actually fish in the water I was targeting. Soon after that, I snagged the fly and lost it on a tree during a back cast. Later that night, I took out my tying table and tried to replicate the gifted fly. It was actually pretty simple to tie, and within an hour I had enough tied up to give the pond another shot.

The next day proved to be the ticket. During the day I managed to stay away from the trees and ended up with a few nice grip and grin shots of some stocked rainbows.  

On the fifth day of Christmas my Ghillie tied for me
5 Gold Ribbed Hare’s Ear Nymphs
4 Baby Buggers
3 PEI Flies,
2 Blae and Black
And a soft hackle Partridge and Orange

Gold Ribbed Hare’s Ear Nymph

Gold Ribbed Hare’s Ear Nymph
Hook: Mustad 3906b 10-18
Thread: Black or Brown
Tail: Guard hair from hare’s mask
Ribbing: Fine gold wire or tinsel
Body: Tan fur from hare’s mask
Wing case: Pheasant tail fibres or mottled dark turkey feathers
Thorax: hare’s mask

~ by Darren M on December 17, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

